Thank you!

The HiPreSS workshop was held May 6-8 at Argonne National Laboratory. We would like to thank all the participants who made this workshop such a great success!

click for a high resolution picture

Find a review of the workshop on the CDAC website.


The natural resonance between synchrotron sources and high-pressure science has led to dramatic advances across surprisingly diverse scientific fields in previous decades. At present, major renewal programs are either underway or imminent at existing 3rd generation synchrotrons and 4th generation sources are on the horizon. Given this context, now is a critical time to explore the full potential of high-pressure science at synchrotron sources.
The goal of this workshop is to use the current state-of-the-art as a starting point to explore the future of high pressure science. As part of the forward-looking theme of the workshop, the program will comprise both the future evolution of established techniques and entirely novel uses of the high pressure variable.



Agenda    (printable pdf)

Tuesday May 5th

Wednesday May 6th
Auditorium Bldg. 362
(APS User Week 2009)

Thursday May 7th
Auditorium Bldg. 402

Friday May 8th
Auditorium Bldg. 402

6:30pm - 8:00pm


change of location:

APS Main Building (401) 5th floor gallery

08:30 - 08:45 Opening remarks

H-K Mao (Carnegie Institution of Washington, DC)


08:45 - 10:30 Fundamental Matter under Extreme Conditions

Chair:H-K Mao (Carnegie Institution of Washington)

E. Gregoryanz (U. Edinburgh, UK)
C. Benmore(Argonne National Laboratory, IL)
A. Goncharov (Carnegie Institution of Washington, DC)

08:45 - 10:30 Dynamic Compression: Frontiers in Real Time Measurement

Chair: G. Shen (Carnegie Institution Washington, DC)

W. Evans (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory)

G. Collins (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory)

08:45 - 10:30 3D Imaging at high pressure

Chair: F. De Carlo(Argonne National Laboratory)

M. Rivers (U. Chicago, IL
I. McNulty (Argonne National Laboratory, IL)
X. Xiao (Argonne National Laboratory, IL)

10:30 - 10:45   Coffee Break

10:30 - 10:45   Coffee Break

10:30 - 10:45   Coffee Break

10:45 - 12:30 Extreme Biology:
x-ray techniques and the study of proteins under pressure

Chair: K. Brister (U. Chicago, IL)

R. Winter (Dortmund, U. T, Germany)
C. U. Kim (Cornell U., NY)
R. Fourme (Synchrotron Soleil, France

10:45 - 12:30 Magnetism in Dense Matter

Chair: D. Haskel (Argonne National Laboratory, IL)

V. Struzhkin (Carnegie Institution of Washington, DC)
N. Souza (Argonne National Laboratory, IL)
W. Sturhahn (Argonne National Laboratory, IL)

10:45 - 12:30 Novel Materials and properties at high pressure

I. Kantor (University of Chicago, IL)

T. Irifune (Ehime-U., Japan
N. Dubrovinskaia (U. Heidelberg, Germany)
M. Lerche (Carnegie Institution of Washington, DC)

12:30 - 2:15   Lunch

12:30 - 2:00   Lunch

12:30-2:00   Lunch

2:15 - 4:00 Physics and Chemistry of Earth and Planetary Interiors

Chair: V. Prakapenka (U. Chicago, IL)

L. Dubrovinsky (U. Bayreuth, Germany)
R. Boehler (Max Planck Institute for Chemistry, Germany)
T. Duffy (Princeton U., NJ)

2:00 - 3:45 HP Phenomena in Liquids and Glasses

Chair: C.J. Benmore (Argonne National Laboratory, IL)

Robert Mayanovic (Missouri S. U., MO)
Q. Mei (Carnegie Insitution of Washington, DC)
A. Chumakov (European Synchrotron Radiation Facility, France)

2:00 - 3:45 Frontiers in Inelastic Spectroscopy

Chair: E.E. Alp (Argonne National Laboratory)

I. Loa (U. Edinburgh, UK)
W. Mao (Stanford, U. CA)
C.Parlinski (Institute Nuclear Physics, Poland)

4:00 - 4:15   Coffee Break

3:45 - 4:00   Coffee Break

3:45 - 4:00   Coffee Break

4:15 - 6:00 Technical Session: Future High-Pressure Science Using Nano-beams

Chair: Z. Cai (Argonne National Laboratory)

L. Wang (Carnegie Institution of Washington, DC)
W. Yang (Carnegie Institution of Washington, DC)
W. Liu (Argonne National Laboratory)

4:00 - 5:45 Technical Session: Trans’ Instrumentation for the next Decade of High Pressure Research

Chair: G. Srajer (Argonne National Laboratory)

J. Miao (UC Los Angeles, CA)
Y. Vohra (University of Alabama, AL)
S. Pascarelli (European Synchrotron Radiation Facility, France)

4:00 - 5:45 Technical Session: Online Optical Spectroscopy

Chair: M. Rivers (University of Chicago, IL)

A. Goncharov (Carnegie Institution of Washington, DC)
S. Sinogeikin (Carnegie Institution of Washington, DC)
V. Prakapenka (U. Chicago, IL)

7:00 - 9:00   Dinner (ANL GH)

6:00 - 7:30   Poster Session

5:45   Close


7:45 - 9:00   Conference Dinner
                     (ANL GH)



Organising Committee

Y. Ding, M. Guthrie, M. Lerche (HPSynC)

please contact M. Guthrie ( with any enquiries


Scientific Advisory Committee:

Ercan Alp, Chris Benmore, Keith Brister, Daniel Haskel, Rus Hemley, Wenjung Liu, Dave Mao,Vitali Prakapenka, Guoyin Shen, and Yanbin Wang